رومان بوشويف
2 min readNov 18, 2021

LEBANESE DIALECT: LEARN THROUGH TRANSLATION (PART 1)

Hi, everyone.
As I previously did in my Learn Saudi exercise list, today I’m going to offer my 5 English versions of originally Lebanese Arabic sentences. Try to translate them back into Lebanese before you scroll down to see the right answers.

Please keep in mind that there might be more than one correct version in Lebanese, but below are the ones that I heard from my friend who is a native speaker and whom I would like to thank for sharing and letting me use this linguistically beautiful stuff.
Off you go:
1. Suddenly, being absolutely cold-blooded and laughing stupidly inside that car, she puts her hand out the window and throws a glass of [soft drink name], big and full-brimmed, of the type available at restaurants like [some fast food chain names].
2. So [soft drink name] is spilled all over the road.
3. If it weren’t for my fast instincts, that [soft drink name] would been all over my car.
4. There are people like her out there: gents and ladies, guys and girls.
5. The thing I find annoying is that the kids are going think it’s okay to throw trash out of the window because their mom does that.

DON'T

FORGET

TO

WRITE

YOUR

TRANSLATION

FIRST,

BEFORE

YOU

SCROLL

DOWN

TO

SEE

MINE.

I guess you’re done by now. Here you go:
1. وفجأة - وبكل برودة، هي وعم تتصهصن بالسيارة - بتمد إيدا برا الشباك وبتكب علبة اسم مشروب غازي كبيرة مليانة من تبع المطاعم متل أسماء شبكات مطاعم الوجبات السريعة.
2. وبتندلق الـ اسم مشروب غازي عالطريق.
3. ولو لا سرعة البديهة أدي لكانت توسخت سيارتي من الـ اسم مشروب غازي.
4. متلا متايل رجال ونسوان، شباب وصبايا.
5. اللي بيزعجني هو إنو الأولاد حيفكروا إنو عادي الواحد يكب برا السيارة لأنو ماما عم بتكب.

Stay tuned for more translation-styled drills.